超精密主轴质量性能测试

产品简介

机床的关键部件之一是主轴。 机床可能具有理想的结构和导轨,但是如果主轴轴线在移动,则工件将出现几何形状误差[1]。 多年来,已经开发出几种方法来描述主轴的运动,从粗跳动测试[23]到使用LVDT,感应式探头和电容式探头[5]等几种接触式和非接触式方法。 如今,最被接受的方法是使用标准检测目标和电容式探头仪器,并连接到个人计算机,在此进行所有计算。

这种现代的轴运动测量仪器具有亚微米的分辨率和精度。 该设备主要用于空气轴承和静压主轴的研究和制造中,因为使用这些设备的机器需要超精密组件。 尽管这可能是正确的,但现代主轴轴线运动测量对于SuperPrecision®机床制造商[4]也是宝贵的资源。 从这些测量中获得的信息可以帮助找到主轴缺陷及其来源。 它还可以确定某些组装过程的更改是正面还是负面的影响。 在以下各段中,将显示主轴运动的测量如何为SuperPrecision®主轴制造商提供宝贵的优势。

测量主轴运动的目的

零件的圆度由在完整机床上执行的试切来确定。 至此,主轴已经安装在机床上,并且已经安装了多个盖板和支撑系统。 如果主轴不符合要求的规格,将会被拒绝,并且浪费了数小时的组装时间。 这就有必要进行主轴质量性能的测试。 对于SuperPrecision®车削中心,圆度应在0.50µm(20µin)以下。 已经建立了实现这种圆度的制造过程,并且在大多数情况下是稳定的。

但是,如果在将主轴安装到机器上之前检测到不合格的主轴,则可以避免不必要的浪费。 测量主轴的圆度需要动力源,样品部件的固定装置和刀具的导向系统。 将所有这些元件提供给未安装在机床上的主轴是不切实际的,麻烦的,并且会给圆度测量带来其他误差。 考虑到这些因素,可以确定,当主轴在机床外部时,最可行的测量方法是主轴轴线运动。 随后可以将其与主轴的圆度相关联。

被测主轴用于超精密车削中心。 安装在机器上时,主轴由多股V型皮带传动装置驱动。 在生产过程中,主轴需要磨合工序以清除油脂。 在此阶段执行主轴测量是理想的,因为它可以轻松地进行仪器安装和驱动。 获取主轴轴线运动后,主要目标是找到此信息与零件圆度之间的关系。

硬件与测量

圆度测量机Rondcom

图1。 圆度测量仪Rondcom 54(顶部)。 圆度测量值的输出(底部),这三个测量值用于计算切削平均圆度。

需要测量的两个关键参数是:零件圆度(作为输出)和主轴误差轴运动(作为输入)。 零件圆度测量简单而直接。 使用天然钻石以360ipr的进给速度在1rpm上切割C1000黄铜0009英寸直径的样品。 切口的长度也为1英寸,并进行3圆度测量:顶部中间和底部。 这三个测量值的平均值是使用并记录在检查文件中的零件圆度值,请参见图1。

当安装在磨合台上时,使用3通道LION precision©主轴分析仪测量主轴的轴运动。 一般而言,该设备是一组电容式探头,可测量主轴旋转时与标准检测目标的相对距离。 所有这些数据都由主轴分析仪软件[5]处理。 可以从该设备获得的信息的能力和信息量巨大,但是,由于它们与零件的圆度有关,因此我们将专注于主轴的径向运动。 

电容式传感器由探头座固定,探头座安装在固定装置上,该固定装置具有用于对齐的精密调整螺钉。 如图2所示。 

为了获得工作台固有频率,执行了碰撞测试。 当固定装置固定在运动的工作台上时,设备的固有频率为64 Hz,高于16Hz的测试rpm频率。 这是避免夹具结构发生任何共振的关键,共振可能潜在地影响测量[6]。

此外,还测量了主轴停止后在运行台中六个不同主轴设置的噪声。 发现噪声的平均峰峰值为0.07μm。 由于此值比我们要查找的值小一个数量级,因此可以认为测量是可靠的。 噪声包含60 Hz范围内的某些频率及其谐波,很可能是周围的电气系统引入的。 如果空闲噪声水平在不可接受的范围内,则检查测量设置并消除检测到的噪声源。

运行工作台以固定探针座

图2磨合式台式夹具,用于固定探头巢。 注意所用的超大钢板。

来自X&Y传感器的信号以5kHz的采样频率记录。 这两个通道的数据通过主轴分析仪软件绘制在旋转敏感方向图上。 肉眼检查该图以检测任何重大异常或问题。 我们的主要兴趣是X轴探针收集的数据,这是敏感方向。 对于车床,敏感方向是刀具垂直于XY平面上的旋转轴的方向。 主轴沿该轴的任何运动都会直接影响加工零件的圆度[1]。

从简单的时域技术到高级频域滤波[1],[6],存在几种分析误差轴运动的方法。 由于其稳定性和自滤波特性,已将同步(或平均)误差运动选作主要分析参数。 同步误差是总误差运动的一部分,它以旋转频率[5]的整数倍出现。 通常是通过平均一定转数并计算最小和最大内接圆之间的距离来获得的。 从物理角度来看,使用同步误差也是有意义的,因为在切削过程中,大多数异步误差将是表面光洁度的一部分[1],而不是形状。

同步误差幅度

图3。 使用相同的轴运动数据集,针对不同的匝数计算了同步误差,可以很容易地观察到指数行为。

为了简化轴运动测量,不使用编码器。 旋转角度是通过在标准检测目标上保留少量偏心率(10µm)来获得的。 这会将正弦波分量添加到传感器数据中,通过将最小二乘正弦波拟合到数据中可以将其删除。 拟合的正弦波也可用于获取主轴的旋转角度。

确定计算同步误差运动的匝数并不是一件容易的事。 同步误差幅度与所用匝数之间的行为呈指数关系,如图3所示。 考虑到这一点,如果使用的匝数不足,则同步误差将过高。 另一方面,如果使用太多匝数,则由于平均,来自同步误差的信息将丢失。 使用10圈来计算同步误差运动时,发现了一个很好的平衡,因为它的指数开始变平。 此外,在LION©主轴分析仪上进行计算时使用的匝数默认值也是10圈。

预期圆度模型

我们的主要目标是将测得的主轴在工作台上的轴运动与机床的圆度切削平均值相关联。 机器圆度切削的输出取决于几个因素,一些因素直接与主轴本身相关,而其他因素则取决于机器装配。 了解这一点很重要,因为存在与测量的主轴轴线运动无关的变化源。 为了最大程度地减少这种变化的影响,在对机器进行适当的平衡和对齐后,应进行圆度切割。 如果平均圆度切削大于0.50µm,则认为主轴不合格。

为了获得预期的圆度值,通过将每转以2度间隔除以10转圈的运动平均,并取最大和最小平均值之差来计算主轴坐标轴同步误差。 该计算被认为是平均圆度。 但是,此值不能完全表示该过程。 考虑到这一点,使用定义10匝数上的最大值和最小值的值来获取标准偏差。 借助均值和标准差,学生t分布[7]用于计算最大的置信区间上限和最小的置信区间。 这些间隔之间的差异是我们预期的圆度。 图4显示了用于计算预期圆度的步骤。

选择置信度99%,因为主要目的是避免在机器上安装不良主轴。 如果发生这种情况,则会浪费大量时间和金钱。

圆度模型

测试结果

预期与平均圆度

图5。 从三个测量值的平均值中获得预期的圆度和实际切割零件的圆度。

通过在运行工作台上测量轴的运动并计算出预期的圆度,然后从测试切削工件中测量圆度,将建议的方法应用于7生产主轴。 这些结果如图5所示。

可以观察到,七个预期值中的六个在预测主轴是否通过或不通过圆度切削时是准确的。 

3主轴,预期的圆度表示主轴不会通过,表明该方法可以起到故障保护作用。 由于将坏主轴鉴定为好主轴比相反情况要贵得多。 当预测的圆度值大于允许的最大值(0.50µm)时,将进一步检查主轴以确定是否存在故障。

结论

使用主轴误差轴运动时,可以以99%的置信度计算预期的圆度。 这为制造提供了有价值的工具,避免了无法通过圆度切削的主轴的组装。 可以理解,某些固有的可变性不仅来自主轴组件,还来自机床组件。 影响圆度的机器组装因素的示例包括:平衡,轴振动,机器刚度,零件材料,工具材料,切削参数,辅助设备振动等。考虑到这一点,建议的预期圆度计算的另一个好处是它可以帮助查明问题出在机床或主轴组件上。 

致谢

作者要感谢Terry S. George C.和Matt B.在此方法开发过程中所给予的所有支持。 此外,我们还要感谢Hardinge Inc.。   

推荐人

  1. B. Bryan,P。Vanherek,“关于旋转轴的错误运动的术语统一”,六月20,1975,CIRP
  2. J. Goddard,A。Cowley和M. Burdekin,“一种用于评估主轴旋转精度的测量系统”,9月18,1972 13th 国际机床设计与研究会议。
  3. Schlesinger,“机床测试”,1966 7th ed,机械出版有限公司
  4. 库什尼尔,“超精密车削中心:高精度,硬车削,多功能刀具机床”,十月20,2013 ASPE
  5. Lion Precision,“指导手册高级主轴误差分析仪v7”,2003
  6. R. March,“精密主轴计量” 2010,2nd DEStech出版物
  7. C. Montgomery,“统计质量控制简介”,2009 6th ed,约翰·威利父子

文章–哈丁纸

Quality Performance Test For Super Precision Spindle

Introduction

One of the key components of a machine tool is the spindle; the machine could have a perfect structure and guide-ways, but if the spindle axis moves, the work-piece will present geometrical form errors [1]. Through the years several methods have been developed to characterize spindle axis motion from crude run out tests [23], to several contact and non-contact methods using LVDT’s, inductive probes and capacitance probes [5]. Today the most accepted method uses a master target and capacitance probes instrumented and connected to a personal computer where all the calculations are made.

This modern axis motion measuring instrumentation is capable of sub-micron resolution and accuracy. This equipment mostly finds its place in air bearing and hydrostatic spindle research and manufacturing, since the machines where these are used require ultraprecision components. While this may be true, modern spindle axis motion measuring is also a valuable resource for the Super Precision® machine tool manufacturers[4]. The information acquired from these measurements can help in finding spindle defects and their sources. It can also identify if certain assembly process changes have a positive or negative impact. In the following paragraphs it will be shown how the measurement of spindle axis motion provides valuable advantages to the Super Precision® spindle manufacturer.

Purpose of Measuring Spindle Axis Motion

The part roundness is determined by a test cut performed on the completed machine. At this point the spindle has been assembled on the machine, where several covers and support systems have been installed. If the spindle does not meet the required specification, it will be rejected and several hours of assembly time are wasted. This creates the need for a spindle quality performance test. For a Super Precision® turning center the roundness should be under 0.50µm (20µin). The manufacturing process to achieve this roundness has been established and for the most part is stable.

Nevertheless if a nonconforming spindle is detected before it can be installed on the machine, unnecessary waste is avoided. Measuring the roundness of the spindle requires a source of driving power, a work-holding device for the sample part and a guiding system for the tool. Supplying all these elements for a spindle which is not installed on the machine tool is impractical, cumbersome and can introduce additional errors to the roundness measurement. Taking these factors into consideration, it was determined that the most feasible characteristic to measure when the spindle is outside the machine tool is the spindle axis motion; which subsequently can be correlated to spindle roundness.

The spindles being measured are used in a super precision turning center. The spindle is driven by a multi-strand V belt transmission when installed on the machine. During the production process the spindle requires a run-in procedure to purge the grease. At this stage performing a spindle measurement is ideal since it can be easily instrumented and driven. The main objective, after the spindle axis motion has been acquired, is to find the relationship between this information and the part roundness.

Hardware and Measurement

FIGURE 1. Roundness measuring machine Rondcom 54 (top). Output of roundness measurement (bottom), the three measurements are used to compute the cut average roundness.

Two key parameters that need to be measured are: part roundness, which is the output, and spindle error axis motion, which is the input. The part roundness measurement is simple and straight forward. A C360 brass 1 inch diameter specimen is cut at 1000rpm using a natural diamond at a feed rate of .0009ipr. The length of the cut is also 1 inch and 3 roundness measurements are taken: top middle and bottom. The average of these three measurements is the part roundness value used and recorded in the inspection files, see figure 1.

The spindle axis motion is measured using a 3 channel LION precision© spindle analyzer when mounted on the run-in bench. In general terms this equipment is a set of capacitance probes that measure the relative distance from a master target when the spindle is rotating. All this data is processed by the spindle analyzer software [5]. The capability and amount of information that can be obtained from this device are immense, however, we will concentrate on the radial motions of the spindle since they are related to part roundness. 

The capacitive sensors are secured by a probe nest, which is mounted to a fixture that has fine adjustment screws for alignment; as shown in figure 2. 

To obtain the bench natural frequency a bump test is performed. When the fixture is secured to the running bench the natural frequency of the setup is 64 Hz which is higher than the testing rpm frequency of 16Hz. This is key to avoid any resonance of the fixture structure that could potentially affect the measurements [6].

In addition, the noise of six different spindle setups in the running bench with the spindle stopped was measured. It was found that the average peak to peak value of the noise is 0.07µm. Since this value is an order of magnitude smaller than what we are looking for, the measurements can be considered reliable. The noise contains some frequencies on the 60 Hz range and its harmonics, most likely introduced by the surrounding electrical systems. In case the idle noise levels are on unacceptable range, the measurement setup is checked and the detected noise sources are eliminated.

FIGURE 2 Run-in bench fixture used to hold the probe nest. Note the oversized steel plates used.

The signals from the X & Y sensors are logged at a sampling frequency of 5kHz. The data of these two channels are plotted on a rotating sensitive direction graph by the spindle analyzer software. This graph is visually inspected to detect any major anomalies or problems. Our main interest is the data collected by the X axis probe, which is the sensitive direction. For a lathe the sensitive direction is where the tool is perpendicular to the axis of rotation on the X-Y plane. Any spindle motion along this axis will have a direct effect on machined part roundness [1].

Several approaches exist to analyze the error axis motion, from simple time domain techniques to advanced frequency domain filtering [1],[6].  The synchronous (or average) error motion has been selected as the main analysis parameter, due to its stability and self filtering nature. The synchronous error is the component of the total error motion that occurs at integer multiples of the rotation frequency [5]. It is typically obtained by averaging a certain number of revolutions and calculating the distance between the minimum and maximum inscribed circles. From the physical point of view it also makes sense to use the synchronous error, because during the cutting process most of the asynchronous errors will be part of the surface finish[1] and not the form.

FIGURE 3. Using the same axis motion data set the synchronous error was calculated for different number of turns, an exponential behavior is readily observed.

To simplify the axis motion measurement, no encoder is used; the angle of rotation is obtained by leaving a small amount of eccentricity (10µm) on the master target. This adds a sinusoidal component to the sensor data, which is removed by fitting a least squares sine wave to the data. The fitted sine wave is also used to obtain the rotation angle of the spindle.

The number of turns used to calculate the synchronous error motion is not a trivial matter. The behavior between the synchronous error magnitude and the number of turns used is exponential, as shown in figure 3. Taking this into consideration, if not enough turns are used, the synchronous error will be too high. On the other hand if too many turns are used information from the synchronous error will be lost due to the averaging. A good balance was found when using 10 turns to calculate the synchronous error motion, since its where the exponential starts to flatten out. In addition the default value for number of turns used on calculations on the LION© spindle analyzer is also 10.

Expected Roundness Model

Our main objective is to relate the measured axis motion of the spindle at the running bench with the machine roundness cut average. The output of the machine roundness cut depends on several factors, some are directly related to the spindle itself and others depend on the machine assembly. This is important to understand because there is a source of variation which is not related with the measured spindle axis motion. To minimize the effect of this variation the roundness cuts are taken after the machine has been properly balanced and aligned. A spindle is considered unacceptable if the average roundness cut is above 0.50µm.

To obtain a value for the expected roundness the spindle axis synchronous error was calculated by dividing each revolution in 2 degree intervals, averaging the motion for 10 turns, and taking the difference between the maximum and minimum averages. This calculation is considered as the mean roundness; however, this value is not a full representation of the process. With this in mind, the values that define the maximum and minimum over the 10 turns are used to obtain the standard deviation. With the means and the standard deviations the Student t-distribution [7] is used to calculate the upper interval of confidence for the maximum and the lower for the minimum. The difference between these intervals is our expected roundness. Figure 4 shows the steps used to calculate the expected roundness.

A confidence level of 99% was selected since the main objective is to avoid installing a bad spindle on a machine. When this happens a great amount of time and money are wasted.

Test Results

FIGURE 5. Expected roundness and actual cut part roundness obtained from the average of three measurements.

The proposed approach was applied on 7 production spindles, by measuring the axis motion on the running bench computing the expected roundness and then measuring the roundness from test cuts. These results are shown in figure 5.

It can be observed that six of the seven expected values were accurate in predicting if the spindle would pass or fail the roundness cut. 

Spindle 3, where the expected roundness indicated that the spindle would not pass, shows that the method works as a failsafe. Since qualifying a bad spindle as good is much more costly than the opposite scenario. When the prediction is a higher roundness value than the maximum allowed (0.50µm), the spindle is further checked to determine if a fault exists.

Conclusions

When using the spindle error axis motion an expected roundness can be computed with a confidence level of 99%. This provides a valuable tool for manufacturing, avoiding the assembly of spindles that will not pass the roundness cut.  It is understood that some inherent variability comes from the machine assembly and not only from the spindle axis motion. Examples of machine assembly factors that affect roundness include: balancing, axis vibration, machine stiffness, part material, tool material, cutting parameters, auxiliary equipment vibration, etc. Taking this into consideration another benefit of the proposed expected roundness computation is that it can help to pin point if the problem is on the machine or spindle assembly. 

Acknowledgements

The authors wish to thank all the support of Terry S.  George C. and Matt B. during the development of this methodology. Furthermore we like to acknowledge Hardinge Inc.   

Refereneces

  1. B. Bryan, P. Vanherek, “Unification of Terminology concerning the error motion of axes of rotation” June 20, 1975, CIRP
  2. J. Goddard, A. Cowley, M. Burdekin, “A measuring system for the evaluation of spindle rotation accuracy” September 18, 1972 13th International machine tool design and research conference.
  3. Schlesinger, “Testing of machine Tools”,1966 7th ed, Machinery Publishing Co. Ltd.
  4. Kushnir, “Super-precision turning center: high accuracy, hard turning, multi-tool machine tool” October 20, 2013 ASPE
  5. Lion Precision, “Instruction Manual Advance Spindle Error Analyzer v7”, 2003
  6. R. March, “Precision Spindle Metrology” 2010, 2nd ed, DEStech Publications
  7. C. Montgomery, “Introduction to Statistical Quality control”, 2009 6th ed, John Wiley & Sons

Article – Hardinge paper